Homemade Laundry Soap

laundry soap

One thing that has been a concern of mine for a while is the ingredients in what we put in and on our bodies. I have been trying to either cut back or cut out a lot of the harsh chemicals that you find in things like lotion, shampoo, toothpaste, and soap. One way that I have found to cut back is by making my own laundry detergent. I have often wondered if making my own washing soap would be not only feasible, but easy. Well, a few months ago I found out how easy it was. A few months back, after scouring the internet to find a recipe I liked, I made my first batch of laundry detergent, and I love using it. It has 4 main ingredients, and an option to put in essential oils (my favorite option!). I found the recipe on a blog here at My Merry Messy Life. I actually stumbled upon this blog searching for knit and crochet patterns. It seems like the author, Sarah, and I share a few passions: crafting, making things from scratch, our oils. The recipe is simple, and there’s even a cute free printable that you can print out and put on your container. From this I was able to get just over 2 gallons of laundry detergent which should last me a while.laundry soap results

 

So, how does this save money? Wonderful question and I’m GLAD you asked! Here’s the break down of the cost:

55 oz Super Washing Soda purchased at Wal-Mart for about $3.24/box

5 lb Baking Soda from Azure Standard for $3.85

16 oz bottle of Dr Bronner’s Pure Castille Soap bought at a local health food store for about $11. This size bottle makes about 3 batches.

Water, straight from the tap.

The total cost is about $3.01 for over 6 gallons of laundry soap! You can’t buy this from the store for that cost, plus this is environment friendly.

I followed the directions from the recipe, but I added more washing soda than the recipe called for. I miss read the recipe and put in 3/4 cup instead of 1/2 cup, but I didn’t see and adverse side effects on my clothes from it. After I had the soap all stirred up I added 20 drops of Young Living Lavender EO which helps to soften the clothes, and 30 drops Young Living Lemon EO as a stain fighter. I’m now onto my second batch. I’ve gone through the first one, and it took me months to do so for 3 of us. I love the smell and I like how my clothes feel when they’re washed.

If you want to find out how to get high quality oils hop on over to my Young Living site to learn more.

About Joanne

I am an Independent distributor for Young Living Essential Oils learning how to use EO's in everyday life to enhance my own health and beauty. I am on a journey to discover God's secrets with nature in using EO's
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

