The Coolness of Peppermint

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Through out my life I have found that I am sensitive to a lot of things. I am sensitive to make-up, so I don’t wear any. I am sensitive to sun, so I either use sunblock or try not to go out too much when it’s bright. I’m loved by mosquitoes and will lose a lot of blood to them over a summer. I have found recently for me that peppermint helps with a lot of the things I’m sensitive to, not the make-up though. I recently went to a STL Cardinals baseball game with my father and we had seats just once section down from the top of the stadium. The seats were great, you had a view of the whole field and would be able to see everything that went on with the added benefit of being in the shade and having a slight breeze. Sometimes being poor is a good thing. When we arrived at the stadium and got to our section we were asked if we wanted to enter a free raffle to upgrade our seats. We thought “well, it’s free, it won’t hurt to try”. Well, we got the upgrade and moved to the right field right where the foul pole is. We actually had part of our view obstructed by the pole, but it was worth it to be that close to the field. We were also in direct sunlight for the whole game and I forgot sunblock. I ended up with a pretty bad sunburn on both my arms, my face and even my ears. My arms also itched like crazy later that day. When I got home, I put on lavender and peppermint oils. I did this for about two days. By then, my normally painful burn ended up fading and not hurting at all. The lavender soothed the pain and the peppermint cooled the skin allowing me to go about my normal business and not cringe in pain whenever I moved. Even about a week and a half later, I still am using the peppermint on my arms to stop the itching since I have started to peel (I have yet to find a product that stops me from peeling. Aloe doesn’t even help. In fact, it makes my peeling worse).

This is just one of the ways that I have used peppermint essential oil to help me. Some other ways that I have used the oil it to help me breath when my basement flooded and kicked up mildew and mold-which tea tree oil stopped the mold and mildew from growing. I’ve also used peppermint to settle an upset stomach, stop a headache, cool me down from being outside weeding and more. For me, peppermint is essential to have in my household due to the many ways that I have already used it and the many more I look forward to trying.

The information provided on Heavenly Escentials is for educational purposes only. It is not intended to prescribe, diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. It is your responsibility to educate yourself and address any health or medical needs you may have with your physician. Please seek professional help when needed.

 

About Joanne

I am an Independent distributor for Young Living Essential Oils learning how to use EO's in everyday life to enhance my own health and beauty. I am on a journey to discover God's secrets with nature in using EO's
This entry was posted in First Aid and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

